Book Review: The Bruising of Qilwa ~ Naseem Jamnia


Title: The Bruising of Qilwa
Author: Naseem Jamnia
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Reviewed by: Shakera
Genre: Fantasy, LGBTQIA
Publisher: Tachyon Publications
Date of Release: August 9, 2022
Pages: 176 (B2Weird Tour)

I really enjoyed this novella. My only complaint is that it’s too short. Some things just felt too rushed. However, I thought the writing was impeccable, which makes up for the rushing. Also, how the author handled the main character’s pronouns was terrific.

Jamnia created quite an imaginative world that was complex and intriguing. The world consisted of non-binary, transgender and asexual beings, which was great to see. The characters are fantastic, and you’ll want to immerse yourself in their world. Although this was a full, complete story, I wanted more. I know… call me greedy.

Overall, this was a fantastic way to be inclusive and tell a unique story. However, I think authors should note how to handle pronouns from book. This was fantastic, and I would love to read more from Naseem Jamnia!

Leave a comment