Book Review: Mirror Bound ~ Monica Sanz


Mirror Bound


Title: Mirror Bound (The Witchling Academy Series, Book 2)
Author: Monica Sanz
Rating: 4 Stars
Reviewed by: Shakera
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Date of Release: September 10, 2019
Pages: 400
Format: Kindle (YA BoundBook Tours)

Mirror Bound is the sequel to Seventh Born, and if I were to compare the sequel to the first book of the series, I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t as good as the first one. Seventh Born was a fast-paced story, as was Mirror Bound. The difference is Mirror Bound dragged in some parts, while Seventh Born flowed at a steady pace. I know this sounds like I didn’t enjoy the book, the pacing of the book in certain spots is my only complaint. Watching Sera grow was fantastic and intriguing. I truly enjoyed getting Barrington’s backstory was perfection. It was nice to see what makes him who he is. In the first book, you know and understand he’s a complicated man, which is what endeared him to me. I don’t know how to explain it, but I adore complicated characters, and Barrington was the creme de la creme for me.

Watching Sera pursue her dreams of becoming an inspector was inspiring. The danger she faced and still trudged on was exhilarating. She’s pretty badass. The development of Sera was well done, and I’m excited to see where her character goes. The development of the relationship between Sera and Barrington is such a slow burn, and I love it. However, I also loved that it wasn’t the main focus of the story. There was still mystery and intrigue and more information about Seventh Borns. Watching the two of them work together was so, so much fun to read. While the sequel wasn’t as high as the first book, I really enjoyed this story, and I can’t wait to read the next one!

 

Leave a comment