Book Review · Books · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Sci-fi · series · YA

Bittersweet ~ Michele Barrow-Belisle


25087520


Title: Bittersweet
Author: Michele Barrow-Belisle
Review Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by: Shakera

“Great Sequel!”

We pick up where we left off with Lorelei in the human world. Her healing abilities aren’t working and I’m panicking! Adrius is in the human world with her, but so is Venus, who is as beautiful as I believe her to be crazy. It’s revealed that the veil between Lorelei’s human world and Adrius’ mythical world is slowly breaking.

While I thought the book started off a bit slow, it was interesting to see more of Lorelei’s world and her friends. I have to say, the plot blew me away. I don’t usually have high hopes for sequels, but this book exceeded my expectations by far! The character developments as well as the world building left me speechless. Ms. Barrow-Belisle has created characters that are easy to love and hate… sometimes at the same time! I shouldn’t love Zanthiel, but I do! It is hard at times to tell if he is the bad guy, but I can’t help but root for him. I adore Adrius, but there were moments where he seemed a bit too controlling for my taste. While I know he has Lorelei’s best interest at heart, I felt she should have been able to make her own decisions as he gave her guidance. I will say, while I like Lorelei as a character… she drives me crazy sometimes. At the same time, she is learning so much about herself and what she is capable of; which makes it easy to forgive some of the decisions she does make. (I’m secretly hoping for a romance between Lorelei and Zanthiel!)

This was well done and thought out! I can’t wait for book 3!

This book was originally posted on http://www.yainsider.com!
Leave a Reply

